Design For Media: Project 2 Idea

*Pipeline and Gant Chart*

For this project I’d like to focus on making a documentary. I want the base of the project to be focused on a documentary because I feel that with this style of video everyone would have something to do and we could try and include all majors (photo, cinematic, animation).

After the sound design lecture, it really inspired me to further my skills with music and I started thinking of ways to present it differently. I came up with the concept of making a documentary focused on music around Columbus/ artists based from Ohio. My team could interview different venue owners, film live bands, interview band members, and interview locals and ask what music (live shows etc.) means to them.

I really want to branch out on how we would present this video. By this I mean straying away from the typical documentary format, maybe include rotoscoping/ cool animation techniques and experiment on different ways to present topics.

Here are some examples I found on vimeo:

Rotoscoping examples:

Director: David M. Helman
Animation: RUFFMERCY (ruffmercy.com)

Directed, Edited & Scrawled by RUFFMERCY / ruffmercy.com / @rffmrcy

Documentary example:

Director: Kristoffer Borgli

Performance example:

Video by Marco Prestini

Prod: Flash Factory

Music by Aucan (C) 2012

Here are some people that I think would be good for this project:

  • Dana Reeves – Director
  • Laura Thatcher – Director of Photography
  • Cameron Granger – Director of Story
  • Heather Taylor – Documentary Director
  • Chi-ling Chu – Director of Animation
  • Sean Dunn – Head of Art Direction
  • Cameron McClain – Production Manager
  • Sam Devine – Director of Sound
Leave a Reply

